New Beginnings

When my ex and I separated, I honestly wasn’t sure if, or when, I would ever be able to move on. Heartbroken, devastated and depressed didn’t come close to matching the emotions running through my body. 

Luckily, I have a good friend that was pushing me to get out there and get back up on that proverbial horse known as dating. 

Well, he was more interested in me finding someone to take to bed, but his pushing helped get me back out there all the same.  

One of my big fears with getting back in the dating game is that I would have a scarlet letter associated with my name. The scarlet letter “D.” 

Divorced. 

Failure. 

Used up. 

No good.

Those are the things I’ve been fearing people associating with my name because I am in the process of getting a divorce. 

Anyways, I’ve recently found someone that has caught my interest. We’ve hung out on a few different occasions and seem to have several shared interests. We’ve enjoyed long conversation over coffee, benge watched Game of Thrones and enjoyed each other’s company over dinner. 

This evening I finally told her that I was previously married. I was prepared for her to ask me to leave or be given dirty looks or just be peppered with a ton of questions. To my surprise, her response was much different. 

She said that she was surprised that I was once married, but that it doesn’t matter. She understands that things happen and that it doesn’t bother her that I was married. 

This then sparked some emotional and thought provoking conversations among the two of us. I felt that it helped us bond on a level that we had yet to reach. 

Despite my fears about the perception people would have, I now have a stronger emotional connection than before because of my decision to be forthright about my prior marriage. 

While our relationship (if you can even call it that at this point) is still very much in its infancy, I now feel as if I have a new lease for the world. A new beginning for the next stage of my life. 

~N

Leave a Reply

